A Day in History

Last year was the 10th Anniversary of 9/11.  At that time I was writing for a blog for the Ohio Education Association and I was asked to come up with some ideas for teachers to use in their classroom.

Here is my original post with a wide variety of activities and resources: More Than Just a History Lesson

I think today with BYOT students should have the opportunity to view footage, video tributes, and images. This can lead to great reflection and discussion. Having students compare media and text about this day will also fit nicely into the new Common Core as well.

While this year is not a “milestone” anniversary, I hope you will take at least a few minutes, if not devote an entire class period, to honor those who were lost on that tragic day.

2 responses

  1. Very touching videos on a really sad, and emotionally charged day. Good job on spreading the word to kids who may not have grasped the events and the tragedy.

    1. Unfortunately, I was doing computer based testing for our building and had a sub yesterday. So she got the opportunity to share these with my class. I wish I could have been there with them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

